top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMovies With Morty

The Invisible Man (2020)

Updated: May 24, 2020

Tense is an understatement!!!

 
 

The Invisible Man (2020) tells us the story of Cecilia who is desperate to get out of a long term abusive relationship with her abusive partner until one day he dies from suicide and how he haunts her after his death.

Written By Leigh Whannell & H.G. Wells and Directed By Leigh Whannell, this film was one of the scariest films I’ve watched in a good while that got my heart pumping throughout.

 

 

The Film....


Lets start this by saying just how INTENSE this film was, from the first 10 minutes it perfectly establishes that this is going to be an intense film and that you won’t have much time to take a breath and you WILL be on the edge of your seat for the majority of it.

Lets dive into them first 10 minutes in more detail. From the moment that last wave hits establishing the open titles the music intensified to signify that we are in for an intense first act. Seeing Cecilia sneaking around trying to escape her house from her abusive partner in the dead of night is terrifying in itself, a broken and scared woman who is having to result in escaping from her own home. The camera pans add to the tenseness of this scene all the more by panning from our main character collecting her things to her partner in bed asleep, terrified that he will awake at ANY given moment. The scene goes on and we get a few jump scares along the way which I totally didn’t expect, normally I’m a very good judge of character when it comes to jump scares but this hide them from me in ways I couldn’t imagine. It culminates in her narrowly escaping in her sisters car, building us to strap in for the rest of the film.

As the film progresses the intenseness only gets worse (in all the good ways) and by the end of the film my heart was pounding so much I had to take a minute to gather myself and even hours after I'm still in shock with just how amazing this film truly is. I have to commend the camera movements as they truly added a sense of added fear and the unknown of what’s going to happen next. Which brings me perfectly on to my next point, the way abusive relationships are treated in this film.


For me personally the film is the PRIME example of how you should portray victims of an abusive relationship and how they are treated on a daily basis. The film encapsulates this by leaving us, the viewers, in the unknown of what is going to happen next, a fear that many victims of abusive relationships suffer daily. Adding the amazing performance of Elizabeth Moss, which we’ll get too shortly, and the brilliant story writing which flows so smoothly and fluently I truly believe we won’t get a film like this again in a good while.

My only (and I mean tiny) criticism of this movie is a certain scene in a restaurant which somewhat defies logic and makes you wonder how people didn’t see a certain floating object?.

There’s other things I could talk about in this film but it would spoil it so I will withhold but if anyone is interested in discussing this film further drop me a message on any of my social channels.


 
 

The Cast....


I think the only thing to talk about here is how terrific and harrowing of a performance Elizabeth Moss ( Her Smell, Us) puts into this movie. She totally embodies the fears and torture of an abused woman and feels totally real throughout, she made me want to care about her character and made me want to help her.


She turns from a terrified and tortured women to an absolutely changed and badass queen by the end. Her character development is superb and is a brilliant example that will be more than likely be taught in media classes around the world.


 
 

To Conclude....


The Invisible Man (2020) is the almost perfect movie that embodies the troubles and fears of abusive relationships in the most surreal way and has a Oscar worthy performance from Elizabeth Moss.

I urge you all to catch this film in the cinemas worldwide and catch this amazing piece of cinematic history.


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.5/5



51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page