top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMovies With Morty

BFI London Film Festival 2020: Honeymood (2020)

Remind Me NOT To Invite An Ex To My Wedding.

 
 

Making it's BFI London Film Festival debut is Honeymood (2020), Written and Directed By Talya Lavie, tells the story of a newly-wed bride and groom who arrive at their luxury honeymoon suite in Jerusalem. But when the bride, Eleanor, discovers her now-husband received a wedding gift from his ex-girlfriend, the pair embark on a wild goose chase to find her and return the wedding gift. Over the course of the one night, the pair must come to terms with the life they have now chosen to live together, leaving past lovers behind and confronting doubts they may have on their future together.


The film presents itself to us the way marriage does, all smiles and laughter at the start until something major comes into play that really tests both parties involved and wether they can over come it together and come out stronger at the other end, thats the best way I could describe this movie. Without going into too much detail the film expresses a real understanding of what life is like during those few month together, only in this film it's all rolled into one singular night.

 
 

The film is by no means perfect, but with its light-hearted script and bizzare but sweet dance sequence involving Eleanor, I couldn't help but come to really warm to the film and want to see how the story wraps itself up. Going into this film I had no idea what I was in for having not read any synopsis or watch any trailers, which aided in me having a really fun and enjoyable 90 mins with this film.


The cast is compromised mainly of Avigail Harari (Eleanor) and Ran Danker (Noam) and I must say I was really impressed with both of them but for me personally I think Avigail Harari stood out the most with her cheeky but sweet charm as Eleanor. Although the moment where Noam throws the mini basketball at his childhood bedroom door and his mum enters and he throws it and hits her face really made me chuckle.

 
 

For me Honeymood (2020) is a light-hearted and sweet film about the demons we face with marriage and putting our pasts behind us. With a charming and informative performance by both leads, Honeymood (2020) will be one of the most pleasent and delightful films I've watched all year.


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️.5/5




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page